Kolkata is my favorite City

I was born down South and I had never been to the Eastern part of India but had gone to the North and West. Now I hear you asking me  question. Why Kolkata then when you haven’t seen it?

I will tell you the reasons and even though I have not seen it, I have herd a lot about the city and had seen it in movies which makes it my favorite city. y knowledge about the city as a school kid was limited to Freedom Fighters like Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose, Shri Rabindranath Tagore and other eminent personalities like Mother Teresa, Shri Jyoti Basu to name a few and later when I grew up I got to know about Cricket and some of the legends this city has given to India.

Needless to say, I was very much aware about the famed Howrah bridge and I use to wonder the way it was built.

What is unique in this city?

There are few things actually. Kolkata is known for its Kali Temples and festivities associated with it. It is also known or its consumption of fishes which they consider over there as Vegetarian which shows lot of things – about their broader mind.

Second thing that has captured my interest was their Passion. It is this Passion which drives them to achieve lot of things in various fields be it sports, literature, politics and others. This drive has seen them dominating in the field of Cricket, Football and Tennis as they have given some amazing players to our nation. The fierceness in them also drives them to get the desired results. Kolkatan’s I must say are pretty nice since I had few school and college friends who were from this city and they were always nice to move with.

Next up is Design. This city is known for lot of architecture including Eden Gardens. I talked about Howrah bridge earlier. The tram lines which still exists in Kolkata makes it unique among other cities not only in India but also across the World.The city is known for its flair in design in almost all the fields. The city is a perfect blend of old and modern traditions. The pandals which are built in this city during Navratri to perform Puja for Goddess Durga is renowned world wide.

Connect – The city connects with us emotionally. This is something which makes them amazing, as always… The city is connected well by roadway and waterways too apart from airways, if I need to talk it in literal terms.

How can I not mention about few more names before I end this up which includes Shri Satyajit Ray, Konkona Sen, Sushmita Sen, Mithun Chakraborty, Sourav Ganguly, Leander Paes among array of stars this City has gifted us…

This city according to me surely fits the tagline #madeofgreat and for more information on this, do visit – http://madeofgreat.tatamotors.com/

Leave a comment